Doritos Cheesy Chicken Casserole

I recently featured this recipe on my post “Top Chicken Recipes on Pinterest.”  I adapted this recipe from Plain Chicken and my family loved it!  Any recipe with the words “Doritos” and Cheese” in the title has my vote! 

I will tell ya … the dish ain’t pretty!  But, it sure is tasty!

The original recipe calls for using a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish.  I used a 10″ round casserole dish, which allowed for a little of the chicken mixture to be leftover (a cup or two).  I froze it because this would be just as tasty as a warm dip for Doritos … midnight, naughty snack, anyone?

Directions:

Spray your dish with non-stick spray.  Then, put a layer of 2 – 3 cups of crushed Doritos (measured after crushing) in the bottom on the dish.

You’ll need 2 – 3 cups of cooked, shredded chicken.  Combine the chicken in a large mixing bowl with the following:

8 oz. of sour cream or plain, Greek yogurt (or a combination of sour cream and yogurt.  I used a 5.3 oz. container of yogurt and about 3 ounces of sour cream.)

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

1 can of cream of chicken soup

1 1/2 cups of salsa

1 can of corn (or a cup or so of frozen corn)

1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese (I used the fiesta blend)

After mixing, spread over the layer of crushed Doritos

Bake uncovered for 20 – 25 minutes at 350º. 

Top with an additional cup of shredded cheese and about one additional cup of crushed Doritos.

Bake an additional 5 minutes or until everything looks nice and bubbly!

We served this with some shredded lettuce and sliced black olives.  My hubby actually scooped some of the casserole into some warm flour tortillas and made a taco, of sorts.

COMMENT

